Chilliwack kayakers earn top spots

The ageless David Ford has earned a spot on the national men’s kayak team, again. - Rfort Fotos
The ageless David Ford has earned a spot on the national men’s kayak team, again.
— image credit: Rfort Fotos

Chilliwack’s Jazmyne Denhollander and former Cultus Lake resident David Ford have both secured spots on the 2014 Slalom National Team.

Over two days at the Innergex Rutherford Whitewater Park in Pemberton, Canada’s top slalom canoeist and kayakers made their four best runs in pursuit of claiming a spot on the National Team.

Five-time Olympian and 1999 World Champion, Ford produced three consistent race runs and grabbed the first overall spot on the men’s kayak team.

CanoeKayak Canada’s slalom high performance committee has crunched the numbers and assessed them against performance standards to officially name five athletes to the Senior Elite Team and three athletes to the Senior A Team. The Senior Elite Team will represent Canada at three World Cups in Europe starting June 6. Both teams will head to Europe for World Cups 4 and 5 before making their way back to North America to compete at World Championships in Deep Creek, Maryland from Sept. 17 to 21.

Senior Elite Team

Men’s K1

David Ford (Edmonton, Alta.)

Ben Hayward (Edmonton, Alta.)

Michael Tayler (Ottawa, Ont.)

Senior A Team

Women’s K1

Jazmyne Denhollander (Chilliwack, B.C.)

Jessica Groeneveld (Innisfail, Alta.)

Thea Froehlich (Ottawa, Ont.)

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Community Events, December 2016

Add an Event