Jock Scraps: Chilliwack sports in brief

Christa Livingston (left) Debbie Green (middle) and  Alana Derkson (right) are this year
Christa Livingston (left) Debbie Green (middle) and Alana Derkson (right) are this year's Chilliwack Giants raffle winners.
— image credit: Submitted

Giants raffle winners

Three names were chosen last week for this year’s winners of the Chilliwack Giants raffle. Debbie Green, from Merritt, won the $50,000 grand prize, while participants Christa Livingston and Alana Derkson—both from Chilliwack—won $3,000 and $2,000 respectively. Mayor Sharon Gaetz drew Green’s name at Townsend Field last Saturday.


Bowen makes the list

The preliminary lists for 2017’s HockeyNow Player of the Year were released last week and 14-year-old Chilliwack born player Ethan Bowen was named with four other candidates in the BC 2002s category. According to the organization, Bowen is a “strong skater with good speed,” and “was strong on the [forecheck] and supported well on the back check.” The young player is a centre on the Yale Hockey Academy Bantam Prep team and has an impressive 1.89 points per game in the 2016-17 season (9 GP, 11 G, 6 A). The award is presented annually to players in their CHL draft year from each B.C., Alberta and Ontario.


Hoopsters fall short

The University of the Fraser Valley (UFV) women’s basketball team lost their final two preseason games with Chilliwack’s Kayli Sartori—one of the young squad’s most experienced players—pitching in with 28 points over the weekend at the University of Victoria. In Friday’s 66-57 loss to the Regina Cougars Sartori picked up 15 points coming off of an injury despite only 20 minutes on the court. The 2015-16 Canada West scoring champ topped her team’s efforts on Saturday with 13 points in that 67-43 defeat to the Calgary Dinos.


Bantam Blue perfect

Chilliwack’s Junior Bantam Blue Giants football team move up to a perfect 10-0 record in their division, now a whole three games ahead of second place North Langley.

Chilliwack scores from Oct. 28 to 30:

Chilliwack Jr. Bantam Blue 31, Abbotsford Jr. Bantam 0

Meadow Ridge Jr. Bantam 54, Chilliwack Jr. Bantam Red 0

Chilliwack Peewee Blue 49, Chilliwack Peewee Red 0

North Langley Peewee 31, Chilliwack Peewee White 0

North Langley Atom 24, Chilliwack Atom White 8

Chilliwack Atom Blue 32, Chilliwack Atom Red 6


Varsity Griz dominate

With 146 points for and zero points against, G.W. Graham’s AA Varsity football team is making a statement in their division. Now on a four-game winning streak, the undefeated senior Griz add another shutout to their season after Friday’s 46-0 defeat against Salmon Arm at Jackson Campus. That follows a closer 15-0 win against Langley at McLeod Athletic Park the previous week. Their fourth win puts them at the top of the Eastern Conference, now separated from Argyle and Holy Cross who each have a single loss so far this season. The No. 3-ranked GWG Grizzlies passed for more than 300 yards. They will host Argyle for their season finale this Friday at 7:30 p.m. at Exhibition Park in Chilliwack.


McLellan stays strong

Chilliwack golfer Connor McLellan continues to find success in the winter Vancouver Golf Tour (VGT). Last Wednesday McLellan finished fourth with a -1, 71-stroke score, the same score that put him in the top 10 during the previous event at the Morgan Creek Golf Club. That earned McLellan $150 and 250 points in the Cleveland/Srixon Order of Merit, placing him in fifth for the new season as the Times went to press. Jonathan Wiegner of Fraserview Golf Course won the event with a -5, 67 stroke game.


New post season rules

Last week the BCHL board of governors announced their approval of a new postseason format for the 2017 BC Ford Dealers Road to the Fred Page Cup BCHL playoffs. In the Island and Mainland divisions, the top four teams will qualify for playoffs with the No. 1 seed facing the No. 4 seed and the No. 2 seed facing the No. 3 seed in the first round. The winners will advance to the division finals, and the winner of the division finals will advance to play the winner of the the other division (Mainland winner vs. Island winner). Alongside that playoff race, the Interior Division’s six teams will all qualify for the playoffs (unless the fifth place Mainland team has more points than the lowest ranked Interior team—in which case that Mainland team will cross over into the No. 6 seed of the Interior playoffs). Round one of the Interior segment will see No. 3 facing No. 6 and No. 4 facing No. 5 (No. 1 and 2 have byes). In the second round No. 1 plays the lowest ranking team to advance, while No. 2 will play the higher ranked advancing team. Those winners will play for the Interior division title. Once the Interior determines its champion, that team will play the winner of the Island vs. Mainland matchup in the Fred Page Cup BCHL finals. All series will be best-of-seven. The need for the change results in narrowing the BCHL’s three divisions down into two final teams. In the past, the round-robin semi-final format was sometimes criticized for awkwardly placing a team’s fate in the hands of its opponents in a separate game.



Comments are closed

You might like ...

Community Events, September 2017

Add an Event